top of page

Fun Individual Schedule Idea

Updated: Feb 12, 2021

Thank you, Pinterest, for all these good ideas. This need came from the fact that many of the students I have worked with are moderately or significantly affected by autism or other disabilities. They are 1) visual learners and 2) not skilled at referencing "big group" visual schedules. I have seen and used a variety of personal schedules that everyone is familiar with, but they are usually stationary (on a table or wall) or too bulky to carry (in a binder or on a clipboard). THIS idea was brilliant. We'll see how it works soon!


Step 1: I went to the hardware store and got 15 paint stirrers. They charged me $.20 a stick. Big money.





Step 2: I bought (on the hardware store guy's suggestion) a dark stain to cover the logo and protect the "wood" (I use the word "wood" loosely; it's pretty flimsy). I used a foam brush to stain them. I went over them twice. Probably could have done a third coat, but I'm inherently lazy.


Step 3: After a day of solid drying, I used a spray clear lacquer and did about three coats of the lacquer. I would have done a couple more, but the can was low when I started, and I ran out. To make it more "solid" and smooth, a couple more quick layers would be smart.


Step 4: Print 1" x 1" icons. I think even 1 1/2" would work. Velcro on the back. Easy peasy.



What I think will work really well here is that the stick is very light. It will be easy for even our youngest student to carry it around and be taught to reference it throughout the day. I'm excited to use it!




30 views1 comment
bottom of page